Fondazione Luigi Bon
ita eng
Back

Parish Church of San Giorgio Martire

Comeglians

One of the oldest churches in Carnia, it rises from a cliff that was presumably fortified in the Roman age. It was built around the 14th century, even if the current form of the church dates back to the renovation of 1740, before being consecrated in 1748. The façade boasts stone statues of Saint George fighting the dragon and Saint Margaret.

The church interior preserves 18th-century paintings and a Roman sepulchral altar that can be dated to the 1st century AD.

Splendid, engraved wooden furniture and 18th-century tapestries are also preserved here. Outside, next to the church, the bell tower is rather short. From near the church of San Giorgio, you can enjoy a wonderful view over the Val di Gorto and Valcalda valleys.

 

Photography by Ulderica Da Pozzo

Fondazione Luigi Bon Regione Autonoma Friuli Venezia Giulia Ministero dei Beni e delle Attività Culturali e del Turismo Comune Capofila Tolmezzo Fondazione Friuli
Camera di Commercio Pordenone - Udine Orchestra FVG AIAM Io Sono Friuli Venezia Giulia
PrimaCassa Comunità della Montagna della Carnia Comunità di Montagna Val Canale BIM Carnia Industrial Park
Legnolandia Goccia di Carnia Secab
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy Transparent Administration Credits P.IVA 01614080305 Instagram