Fondazione Luigi Bon
ita eng


Sauris - Sauris di Sotto
Church of Sant'Osvaldo
14 / 08
Wednesday 14 August 2024 - Hour 20.30

Andrea Magris flauto
Erika Perantoni harp


B. ANDRÈS Algues, 7 pièces pour Flûte et Harpe
F. PENNISI Introduction to grecale
T. TAKEMITSU Umi e, Toward the Sea III for alto flute and harp
G. ROCHBERG Slow Fires of Autumn, Ukiyo-e II
J. CRAS Suite en duo pour Flûte et Harpe

The program, through works by Jean Cras, Francesco Pennisi, and George Rochberg, deals with the beauty of nature and its changing behaviours caused by climate change. In particular, the wonderful odyssey painted by Cras fully represents the core of Sento l’oceano sognare: respect for nature and the search for Truth in it, even though the journey into the ocean of our innermost self. Pennisi's wind, Rochberg's extinguished fire in the seasons, Andrès' kaleidoscope of algae, and Takemitsu's ineffable whale songs: ukiyo-e, images of a floating world, sounds of our ocean and the universe's ocean. By listening to the music of the carillon within us, can we transcend the sea to hear it dream? Perhaps the truth lies only in having the courage to open it during the storm. The concert opens with Algues, a composition where we are captivated and transported into a fantastical world.

In collaboration with Nei Suoni Dei Luoghi.

Church of Sant'Osvaldo

It seems that a 1328 document already testified to the existence of a sacred building dedicated to Saint Oswald in Sauris di Sotto. His worship was probably brought by the founders of the community, who came from Austria. In the 1600s and 1700s, the sanctuary was one of the best known and most prestigious places of worship of the Venetian Republic. It was the goal of hundreds of pilgrims coming from Friuli, Cadore, the cities of the Veneto, and, in particular, Venice. To house them, the building was expanded and altered many times over the course of the centuries, as the recent restoration has also revealed. On the outside, the structure is characterized by the bell tower with its typical onion-shaped spire, the roof of larch shingles, the foundation made of local tuff ashlars, also used to mark the corners of the masonry, and the lovely rose window on the façade. The restoration brought to light part of the fresco decoration of the masonry, windows, and lunettes of the apse, as well as a 1785 sundial and numerous writings left by the pilgrims between halfway through the 1600s and the early decades of the 1700s. In the presbytery, the splendid Flügelaltar (winged altar) by Michael Parth from Bruneck (1524) reigns. At the end of the right aisle, there is another altar dedicated to Saint Oswald, the work of Gian Francesco Comuzzo from Gemona (1658). Halfway down the left aisle, there is the altar of Our Lady of the Girdle (17th century; 18th century altarpiece). The ceiling has frescoes, in a folk style, of the death of Saint Oswald and the Assumption of the Madonna. Resting on two pillars, the processional banners with silver patches of Saint Oswald and Our Lady of the Girdle (Venetian production, 18th century) should also be noted.


Photography by Ulderica Da Pozzo

Friuli Venezia Giulia and its mountains have endless treasures to discover!


Contact us for tourist information on events, accommodations, services, and everything else our region's resorts have to offer.

In terms of Regulation EU 679/2016.
I declare to have read the general regulations that pertain to privacy laws

Event realized in collaboration with

Fondazione Luigi Bon
Regione Autonoma Friuli Venezia Giulia Comune Capofila Tolmezzo Ministero dei Beni e delle Attività Culturali e del Turismo Io Sono Friuli Venezia Giulia
Fondazione Friuli Camera di Commercio Pordenone - Udine ERT Ente Regionale Teatrale del Friuli Venezia Giulia AIAM
PrimaCassa BIM Comunità della Montagna della Carnia Carnia Industrial Park
Legnolandia Secab
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy Transparent Administration Credits P.IVA 01614080305 Instagram